Versioning
Once a workflow is live and used daily, updating it directly can be challenging because changes to form items or triggers apply immediately to shop floor operations. Enabling controlled versioning protects live templates from accidental modifications, maintains operational stability, and keeps an audit history of changes. Besides, having a controlled versioning becomes a good practice in order to manage the changes and evolution of the business.
This optional feature protects live templates from accidental changes while providing a history of activity template changes. This feature is configured per activity template and turning this on can not be reversed.

How to Enable Versioning
On the target Activity Template.
Click Edit Template in the upper menu.

Select Enable version control.

In the confirmation dialog ("Do you want to continue?"), click Yes to confirm.

The current configuration is locked as Version 0 with the status Live. This version cannot be edited directly and a new version might be created to modify the template.
Manage and Publish new versions
On the Live version Edit template page, click Create new version.

This creates Version 1 with the status Draft, which is open for editing.

Make the necessary changes to the form, fields, or properties (draft edits will not affect operators on the shop floor). And once finalized, click Promote to set its status as LIVE.

In the confirmation pop-up, optionally add Comments explaining the changes, and click Publish.

Now Version 1 becomes the active Live version, and Version 0 is automatically changed to Archived. All changes made on Version 1 are now visible to the operators.


Template Status Reference
LIVE
The active version currently used in daily shop floor operations. Only one version can be Live at a time.
No
Yes
DRAFT
A working copy created for making changes or updates. Changes made here do not affect live operations.
Yes
No
ARCHIVED
A historical, read-only snapshot of a previous Live version that has been superseded by a newer version.
No
No
Viewing All Versions
Version History section
Under the Version History section in the template you can select previous versions to view what they were.

Viewing archived templates provide a snapshot into the history of the Activity Template. Here they cannot be edited but can be restored to a draft version by selecting the Restore to drafts button.
Activity Template list
In the Activity Templates list, open Filters > More filters, select Status, and check DRAFT, LIVE, and ARCHIVED to display the complete version history.


Last updated